Subject Guides: Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences: Clinical Tools

Psych Tests & Assessments

Cognitive Screening for Older Adults

Depression Instruments

Beck Depression Inventory II
Measures of depression and depressive symptoms: Beck Depression Inventory‐II (BDI‐II)
Arthritis Care & Research, 2011. 63 (Suppl 11):S454-466.
Hamilton Rating Scale for Depression (HAM-D)
Zung Self-Rating Depression Scale

Substance Abuse Screening

Search for Assessments, Instruments, or Tests

Health & Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Locate information on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. (questionnaires, checklists, tests, etc.) Mobile friendly.
Health Services and Sciences Research Resources This link opens in a new window
See an archived version of this site. Note: Some links on the archived site might not work.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
More than 2,700 contemporary testing instruments containing information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Mobile friendly.
APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
Integrated collection of databases from the American Psychological Association (APA): PsycInfo (abstracts and index records), PsycTests (tests, instruments and measures) and PsycArticles (full-text journal articles). Also includes APA Books.

Recommended Clinical Tools

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Quick, evidence-based answers to clinical questions at the point of care; includes the full content of 5-Minute Clinical Consult, 5-Minute Pediatric Consult, and selected content from other specialty consults. Mobile friendly.
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Combines the clinical expertise and curated disease content of DynaMed with the treatment options and drug information of Micromedex; provides evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes. Mobile friendly. App available.
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
A drug and formulary reference tool. Also contains disease information from BMJ Best Practice. Mobile friendly. App available.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive evidence-based information on Drug Interactions, IV Compatibility, Drug ID, Drug Comparison, CareNotes, NeoFax/Pediatrics, Red Book drug pricing, and Tox & Drug Product Lookup. App available.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, peer-reviewed resource on complementary and alternative medicine, with monographs, flashcards and references; also features interaction checkers, continuing education, and news briefs. Mobile friendly. App available.
PEPID This link opens in a new window
Clinical Rotation Companion Platinum; includes adult and pediatric disease diagnostics and treatment information, lab values, an extensive drug database (including herbals), ICD codes, Stedman's Dictionary of Terms, anatomical illustrations, and more. App available.
uCentral This link opens in a new window
A platform for mobile and online medical references: DSM-5, Johns Hopkins Psychiatry, Diabetes, and HIV Guides, Washington Manual, plus much more. Mobile friendly. App available.

Mobile Resources Guide
Descriptions of the library's mobile resources and instructions for registering and renewing subscription apps