Subject Guides: Biomedical Sciences: Other Resources

Keeping Current with Research

Creating Search Alerts

Many journal publishers offer an option to receive the Table of Contents of each issue as it is published, either by email or RSS feed.

Look for an option such as "Alerts and Feeds" or "Email Alerts" on the journal's homepage.

Desktop and Mobile Apps

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
The BrowZine interface allows you to browse, read and follow thousands of the library’s scholarly journals available at browzine.com or from your Android and iOS mobile devices. Keep track of your favorite journals and easily see similar titles to the ones you are familiar with in order to broaden your knowledge of related scholarly literature. App available.

Download the free BrowZine app from the Apple App Store, the Google Play Store, or the Amazon Kindle App Store.
Choose Florida State University from the list of institutions so you have access to FSU Libraries subscriptions.
Log in with your FSU FSUID and password.
Select journals you prefer and keep up with new issues as they are published.
Save articles of interest and optionally export them to your citation manager (EndNote, Zotero) library.
Watch for new journals to be added.

Features:

Brain Maps
BrainMaps.org is an interactive multiresolution next-generation brain atlas that is based on over 20 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains and that is integrated with a high-speed database for querying and retrieving data about brain structure and function over the internet.

DataMed This link opens in a new window
From the biomedical and healthCAre Data Discovery Index Ecosystem (bioCADDIE), DataMed searches a broad spectrum of high quality biomedical research repositories. It currently indexes more than 2 million data sets.
FlyBase This link opens in a new window
Search tool for genes, alleles, aberrations and other genetic objects, phenotypes, sequences, stocks, images and movies, controlled terms, and Drosophila researchers.

Physical Sciences in Oncology - NCI
The Division of Cancer Biology’s Physical Sciences in Oncology Initiative seeks to establish research projects that bring together cancer biologists and oncologists with scientists from the fields of physics, mathematics, chemistry, and engineering to address some of the major questions and barriers in cancer research.

FSU College of Medicine Division of Research
The Division of Research staff can provide technical assistance on application components and related requirements, review draft documents, develop a budget, and coordinate internal approvals.
FSU HSC - Human Subjects Committee
The Mission of the FSU Human Subjects Committee is to protect the welfare of human subjects participants by compliance with the federal regulations governing the protection of human subjects, and facilitating the research efforts of FSU faculty, students and staff.
FSU ACUC - Animal Care and Use Committee
The FSU Animal Care and Use Committee is committed to responsible oversight of the use of vertebrate animals in research, testing and exhibition in accordance with Public Health Service Policy.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Dosing, indications, and adverse reactions, with clinical pharmacology, pricing, images, and printable patient handouts presented in English and Spanish. Mobile friendly.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Information from the Gold Standard Drug Database, includes indications & dosage administration, monitoring parameters, contraindications, interactions, adverse reactions, classifications, and global drug names. Mobile friendly. App available.
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Combines the clinical expertise and curated disease content of DynaMed with the treatment options and drug information of Micromedex; provides evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes. Mobile friendly. App available.
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
Pill ID, interactions, dosing, formulary, calculators, and patient education. Mobile friendly. App available.

Micromedex
Database of comprehensive evidence-based information on medication, toxicology, disease, and condition management. Summary and in-depth information is available within various sections covering Drug Interactions, IV Compatibility, Drug ID, Drug Comparison, CareNotes, NeoFax/Pediatrics, Red Book drug pricing, and Tox & Drug Product Lookup.

Pediatric Care Online This link opens in a new window
From the American Academy of Pediatrics. Policy tab gives quick access to AAP clinical practice guidelines. The Red Book Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases is also included. Mobile friendly.
PEPID This link opens in a new window
Drug interactions checker, drug-allergy checker, and IV compatibility tool. Extensive pharmacology section includes abbreviations, and medication overdoses and antidotes. App available.
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window
The leading clinical reference on the treatment of infectious diseases and anti-infective drug information. Mobile friendly. App available.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Select set of foundational drug information from the Lexicomp core databases, including more than 5,800 in-depth drug monographs, each providing dosage information for adult, pediatric and geriatric patients. Separate drug interaction tool for drug-drug, drug-herb, and herb-herb analysis. Please note: Access is limited to College of Medicine students, residents, full-time faculty, and clerkship directors. Mobile friendly. App available.
5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Quick, evidence-based answers to clinical questions at the point of care; includes the full content of 5-Minute Clinical Consult, 5-Minute Pediatric Consult, and selected content from other specialty consults. Mobile friendly.

Tools of the Trade Tip: Ace Your Academic Interview
3-minute podcast on how to demonstrate your value to the interview committee