Subject Guides: Interdisciplinary Medical Sciences: IHS 4901

Course research objective: Finalize and produce the Capstone project

This second-semester senior-level course focuses on finalizing students' literature searches and surveys, writing their paper, and creating a research poster.

Paper Writing Basics

How NOT to Write a Medical Paper by Markus Heinemann
Publication Date: 2016

Manuscript Sections and Descriptions
From Dr. Tim Megraw of the FSU College of Medicine Department of Biomedical Sciences

APA and other journal styles

APA Style: Sample Papers
Includes 2 student and 2 professional samples: each has an annotated PDF and an unannotated MS Word .docx
APA Style: Style & Grammar Guidelines
Includes paper format, bias-free language, tables and figures, in-text citations, and references
Citation Guide (includes APA and MLA) From FSU Libraries

Plagiarism

Presenting another's words, ideas, or work as your own is plagiarism. Learn more:

Plagiarism
A guide to understanding and avoiding plagiarism, produced by the Florida State University Libraries
Copyright Resources: Fair Use
A primer on copyright and fair use, produced by the Florida State University Libraries
Avoiding Plagiarism, Self-Plagiarism, and Other Questionable Writing Practices: A Guide to Ethical Writing
From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Service Office of Research Integrity.
Authors Alliance: Fair Use
Includes the Fair Use for Nonfiction Authors guide, as well as FAQs and best practices.
iThenticate
iThenticate is an intellectual property verification tool that is available to FSU faculty, staff, and students.
Please Note: Web form may take a minute to load

Human Subjects Research

Primary/lead investigators (PIs) manage the human subject approval process and human subject training based on type of research, funding, and college / university protocols.

Human Subjects Research at the College of Medicine
College of Medicine researchers, start here for information on research partnerships, support and resources, and educational research with College students.
Human Subjects (from the FSU Human Subjects Office)
The FSU Human Subjects Committee (AKA Institutional Review Board) reviews and approves research projects at one of three levels: Exempt / Expedited / Full Committee.
OHSP Student-led Research
The FSU Office of Human Subjects Protection (OHSP)'s guidance for students who are conducting human subjects research. This website includes a guidance document; list of FAQs; key tips; accessible algorithms and important links; as well as detailed explanations and footnotes about key concepts, terms, and processes.

Related guides

Research, Writing & Publishing Subject Guide
Created and curated by the Maguire Medical Library
Evidence-Based Medicine Subject Guide
Created and curated by the Maguire Medical Library

Research Resources

9 Questions to Help You Make Sense of Scientific Research
How to analyze scientific journal articles for health information; instructive for new researchers
Assessment, Instrument and Test Finders
Identify behavioral measurement instruments to use for studies that collect data from human subjects
FSU Survey Foundry
The FSU Survey Foundry (FSUSF) provides a full range of survey and research services. Services include, but are not limited to, various forms of data collection, training, study design, sample and questionnaire development, conducting focus and discussion groups, processing data, and providing reports. Training workshops cover various survey research topics such as sample design, frame development, instrumentation, survey management, data entry, mode comparisons, and similar topics.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Online search tool that guides researchers, faculty, and students through every step of the research process for health sciences/interdisciplinary projects. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods/identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.

Designing Clinical Research by Warren S. Browner; Thomas B. Newman; Steven R. Cummings; Deborah G. Grady
Publication Date: 2022
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, 5e by J. Glenn Forister; J. Dennis Blessing
Publication Date: 2019
Web page version
The Tools of Science: The Handbook for the Apprentice of Biomedical Research by Jose Russo
Publication Date: 2010

Posters

Fabric Conference Posters
Blog and comments on creating inexpensive, wrinkle-free, travel-friendly conference posters made of cloth

___________________________________________________

Poster guidelines developed by College of Medicine faculty