Skip to main content
Select Procedures Consult from the search box dropdown within ClinicalKey
. Detailed video, text and illustrations covering top medical procedures, with a focus on patient safety guidelines. Each includes discussion of indications, contraindications, anatomy, equipment used, complications, etc, with references.
AccessMedicine: Bedside and Office-based Procedures
Content organized by system. Some files require the free QuickTime Player; others require the free Flash Player 8 or higher.
Videos in Clinical Medicine
Videos on clinical procedures, produced by the New England Journal of Medicine since 2006. Each video is 5-8 minutes long. Printed summaries supplement the videos.
Videos of Surgical Procedures
This page provides links to prerecorded webcasts of surgical procedures. These are actual operations performed at medical centers in the United States.
Common Pediatric Medical Procedures
13 Pediatric Procedural Skills required by the ACGME for graduate medical education in pediatrics, the videos provide an overview of the particular procedure, a demonstration of physicians performing the procedure in an effective and instructive manner, and post-procedure steps.
Introduces basic surgical concepts and techniques to the medical student. Each learning module is grouped by region for ease of study. Numerous videos, images, and definitions comprise each module, giving context to the topic.
Video & Audio from LWW Health Library
Short videos from Acland's Anatomy and the Bates Guide to Physical Examination, as well as heart and lung sounds and physiology animations.
FSUMedMedia: FSU College of Medicine on YouTube
From the Educational Support & Instructional Design Unit of the COM Office of Medical Education, this site provides consultation, support, and training for faculty to develop instructional materials in a variety of media formats.
Free Health Videos from Medline Plus
These animated videos for patients and healthcare providers feature the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.
NEJM Quick Take Videos
Brief animation narrated by Jeffrey M. Drazen, M.D., Editor-in-Chief of the Journal, summarizing the key findings of an original research article and their broader implications in a lively visual format.
Designed for medical school students and practicing physicians to learn and review the fundamentals of clinical medicine. Content comes from a collaboration of nearly 200 of the best medical school professors from around the world. Free registration required.
Along with providing open-access videos, Osmosis offers a comprehensive e-learning platform that connects med students with thousands of flashcards and quiz questions
free video library of 300+ seminars and short talks by world-leading scientists.
Films on Demand Health & Medicine Collection
Educational videos on topics such as disorders & disabilities, personal health & wellness, public health, health care & treatment, and health careers. Mobile friendly.
Movies and documentaries, with more than 350 focused on medicine. Mobile friendly.
Images Available Through Library Resources
Many of the library's subscription databases, such as AccessMedicine, ClinicalKey, Pediatric Care Online, and others, have images you can download or print for noncommercial use, provided that all copyright and other proprietary notices are kept intact (see our Using Images tab for further guidelines).
The easiest way to find images in these resources is to do a search, then use the search filters (usually on the side of the screen) to narrow your results to images.
Cell Image Library
Images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes.
Google Images: Advanced Search
Narrow your results by usage rights, or by domain (.gov) - Most U.S. government images are copyright-free.
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
a collection of over 22,000 freely available, high quality digital materials for health sciences education.
Open-i - Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
Open-i provides access to over 1.6 million images from about 580,000 PubMedCentral articles and 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports.
From the University of Michigan Libraries, a list of repositories that provide openly-licensed images, video, music, course materials, and more.
free educational radiology resource with one of the web's largest collections of radiology cases and reference articles.
FSU COM Informatics
Use of Images Tutorial
Tutorial developed by the FSU College of Medicine Informatics faculty for training staff and students.