Skip to Main Content

EndNote

References in EndNote

Adding References to EndNote

Now that EndNote 20 is set up, it's time to start adding your references. There are two methods for adding references to EndNote: Import or Manual. Importing references is the preferred method as it is quick, easy, and less prone to mistakes. However, there will be times when a reference has to be added manually⁠—print books, video transcripts, email correspondence, etc. The instructions for adding references to EndNote by both methods are available below.

Adding References to EndNote

Importing References

Importing is the recommended method for adding references to the EndNote Library. This method allows users to download a specialized file-type that imports references into EndNote in the proper format. The Import method also allows users to 'batch' import large numbers of references at one time.

How to Import References
PubMed Tutorial

  1. Make sure the EndNote Library where you want to add the selected references is open.
  2. Go to PubMed (or any database that allows citation exports) and perform your search as usual.
  3. Once you have found the references you wish to import:
    • 1Select one or more references for import by checking the boxes next to each of the desired references.
    • 2At the top of the page, click on Send to:
    • 3Under "Choose Destination," select Citation Manager
    • 4Finally, click the Create File button to create a downloadable Reference File
    • 5EndNote should automatically import the Reference File and the selected references should appear under Imported References in the Library Panel in EndNote 
Steps 1-3 in PubMed
Step 4 in PubMed
If EndNote does not automatically import the downloaded Reference File...
  • Locate the Reference file in your Downloads folder, or the browser's download bar, and use one of the methods below to open the file in EndNote.
    1. Double-click on the Reference file to open it in EndNote. If asked to select a program to open the file, select EndNote and make it the default program for the file type. Alternatively right-click on the file and select Open with EndNote 20.
    2. In EndNote, go to File Import, select the Reference file from Downloads, and click Import.
    3. On a Mac, you may need to associate bibliographic file types such as .nbib or .ris with EndNote. Learn how.

 

Quick Tip
References can be imported to EndNote from different databases and search engines such as Web of Science or Google Scholar. Look for a reference/citation export option for the desired reference and select EndNote as the receiving citation manager. If you are asked to select an export file type instead of a citation manager, choose: .nbib, .enw or .ris.
See EndNote: Importing from Google Scholar for more information on configuring Google Scholar to send references to EndNote.

~ Return to Top of Page ~

Adding References Manually

References can be manually added to an EndNote Library by the user. However, this method of adding references is not recommended since it is labor-intensive and prone to formatting errors. References can be manually added to EndNote if there is no way to import the desired reference; i.e. referencing a chapter in a print book, emailed correspondence, a video transcript, etc.

How to Create a Manual Reference

  1. Make sure that the EndNote Library where you want to add the reference is open.
  2. Go to the top Menu bar in EndNote:
    • 1Select References.
    • 2Choose New Reference.
Select References/New References
  1. In the New Reference dialogue box:
Manual Reference Types and Fields
  1. Once all of the information has been entered: save the new reference by going to File Save, then closing the reference dialogue box.
  2. The new reference should now be available under All References in your EndNote Library.

 

Quick Tip
Due to how EndNote processes the content in the Reference Fields to create JAMA-style citations, there may be citation formatting issues with manually entered references. Please see the Editing References box on the Advanced EndNote Tips & Tricks page on this guide for further information. If you are still experiencing formatting issues with a manually entered citation, please contact the Maguire Medical Library for assistance.
medlibrary@med.fsu.edu |  (850) 644-3883

 

Finding and Attaching Full-Text PDFs

Find Full Text
Retrieving & Attaching PDFs

EndNote 20 can automatically find full text articles and save the PDFs in your EndNote library. While this walk-through uses PC images, instructions will work for both Mac and PC. Please note that this process may not retrieve full text for every reference.

Warning!
While the OpenURL is working, there are still compatibility issues with article retrieval in OneSearch that will return false negatives for articles with library subscription access.
For article PDFs not automatically retrieved with EndNote's Find Full Text, please use OneSearch directly, or search PubMed or Google Scholar to download and manually attach PDF files to their appropriate EndNote record.
  1. From your EndNote library, select Edit, then Preferences.
  2. In the left menu, select Find Full Text.
  • Check the first four boxes.

  • In the OpenURL Path, copy/paste: 

https://fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01FALSC_FSU/01FALSC_FSU:Home?

  • In the URL field, copy/paste:

https://login.proxy.lib.fsu.edu/login
  • Select Apply OK. 
  1. In your EndNote desktop library, select/highlight the reference(s) for which you would like to find the full text article(s). 
  2. Select References in the top menu, then Find Full Text  Find Full Text.
  3. You will be asked to authenticate using your off-campus login. Enter your FSUID and password, and select Continue twice.
    For more information on off campus access, click here.

  4. A small drop-down menu should appear under groups that says Find Full Text. Underneath, you can see how many articles EndNote is still searching for, how many PDFs it has found, how many URL links it has found, and how many PDFs have not been found. 

  1. If EndNote was able to retrieve a full text PDF, a small paperclip will appear next to the author's name. In order to access the article, double-click on the reference. You should see the article title in the top bar. Click the PDF icon to retrieve the article. 
  1. For full-text article PDFs not automatically retrieved, click on Not Found. Right-click on each record and select Open URL Link to open OneSearch; determine whether the article is available through library access. If the article is available, download the PDF and manually attach the file to its appropriate EndNote record by dragging/dropping the PDF to its EndNote record. 

~ Return to Top of Page ~

Maguire Medical Library
Florida State University College of Medicine
1115 W. Call St., Tallahassee, FL 32306
Call 850-644-3883 (voicemail) or Text 850-724-4987
Questions? Ask us.