Subject Guides: Publishing: Choose a Journal

Journal Matching Tools

Journal matching tools allow you to quickly locate journals that match the topic of your research.

Jane: Journal/Author Name Estimator
Use this website to help determine the best MEDLINE journal to approach for publishing a manuscript.
Scholarly Publishing Information Hub (SPI-Hub™)
Enter up to 5 keywords describing the topic of your research into the SPI-Hub database to identify journals in which to publish your work. SPI-Hub consolidates information from multiple resources to easily compare the quality, scholarly importance, and editorial policies of several biomedical journals.
JournalGuide
Enter the title, keyword, or abstract of your paper into JournalGuide’s database to find journals that match your topic.
Elsevier Journal Finder
Insert your title and abstract and select the appropriate field-of-research for the best results into the Elsevier Journal Finder to match your article to Elsevier journals.
Wiley Journal Finder
Enter the title and abstract of your manuscript into the Wiley Journal Finder to locate relevant Wiley journals.
Clarivate Manuscript Matcher
Manuscript Matcher helps you find the most related journals for your manuscript. It works best when your title has at least 10 words and your abstract has at least 100 words. Using this information, it will pull the most relevant keywords for matching.
Sage Journal Recommender
Enter keywords or the title of your manuscript to find relevant journals published by Sage.
EndNote Manuscript Matcher
Enter the title, abstract, or references from your manuscript into EndNote's Manuscript Matcher database. Using information from Web of Science, the results can be sorted by journal impact factor.

Open Access Journals

When you publish your article in an Open Access journal, your article is available for anyone to read for free. Find quality open access journals using the following resources:

Directory of Open Access Journals
Search for open access journals by subject, and identify which journals charge author processing fees.
Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA)
Publishers who are listed as members of OASPA are expected to adhere to strict quality control criteria.

Open Access Funding

FSU has an Open Access Publishing Fund available to assist with open access fees.

FSU Open Access Publishing Fund

Library Databases

You can also find relevant journals by searching literature databases. Search for your topic to find similar articles, and see which journals published those articles.

Common literature databases include:

PubMed This link opens in a new window More than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Mobile friendly.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts from scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research. Use the All Databases dropdown to link to BIOSIS Previews, BIOSIS Citation Index, and Medline. Linked to EndNoteWeb.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; APA PsycInfo covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations. (If needed, choose "Select Databases" from the APA PsycNet main website, then APA PsycInfo.)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (changing to CINAHL Ultimate) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive index of journals, dissertations, books, conference proceedings, standards of practice, software, and audiovisual material for nursing and allied health topics. Mobile friendly.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus provides a comprehensive overview of worldwide research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, along with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.

Publishing: Choose a Journal

Selecting a Journal

Journal Matching Tools

Open Access Journals

Library Databases