Subject Guides: Point of Care: Calculators & Coding Tools

Medical Equations and Calculators

ClinicalKey: Clinical Calculators
Includes calculators for drugs (general dosing and drug-specific), clinical criteria/decision trees, and conversions (for units of weight, length, time, temperature, and SI conversion for chemistry values). Mobile friendly.

DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Combines the clinical expertise and curated disease content of DynaMed with the treatment options and drug information of Micromedex; provides evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes. Mobile friendly. App available.
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
Includes selected EBMcalc medical calculators from Foundation Internet Services. Mobile friendly. App available.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes over 400 unique evidence-based, clinical decision support tools/calculators based on the results of valid and relevant studies. These tools support clinical decision making by offering risk and probability assessments. Also includes 2,000 Diagnostic Test Calculators, divided into 450 symptom/disease pairings, help clinicians choose the best diagnostic test and interpret the test results. Mobile friendly.
Pediatric Care Online This link opens in a new window
Includes links to 18 online calculators from various resources pertinent to pediatric patients. None of the calculators are provided by the resource or included in the resource/app content. Mobile friendly. App available.
PEPID This link opens in a new window
Contains a great number of medical calculators both online and on the app. The presentation of interpretation instruction is excellent in these tools.App available.
uCentral This link opens in a new window
uCentral offers a limited number of medical equation calculators. Mobile friendly. App available.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provide selected EBMcalc medical calculators from Foundation Internet Services. Please note: Access is limited to College of Medicine students, residents, full-time faculty, and clerkship directors. Mobile friendly. App available.

Recommended free medical calculator

The Absolute CVD Risk/Benefit Calculator
This tool estimates the risk of CVD using your choice of Framingham, QRISK2-2014 or ACC/AHA ASCVD formulas, then allows you to show the relative benefits of various options like statins, exercise or smoking cessation. Mobile Friendly
Calculate by QxMD (Mobile App)
Ranked one of the best medical calculator apps for ease of use by iMedicalApps. Contains more than 400 calculators and tools which impact clinical practice, serve to influence diagnosis, treatment or determine prognosis.
MDCalc
Free calculators and decision support tools that cover 150+ diseases for 35+ medical specialties. App available.

Subscription Coding Resources

DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Combines the clinical expertise and curated disease content of DynaMed with the treatment options and drug information of Micromedex; provides evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes. Mobile friendly. App available.
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
The Epocrates app contains ICD-9 and 10 codes. Mobile friendly. App available.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Contains a handy E&M coding tool. Mobile friendly
PEPID This link opens in a new window
Contains a section with ICD-10 codes organized by specialty of commonly used codes. App available.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support tool that includes ICD10 codes. Mobile friendly. App available. Quick Start Guide.

Free Coding Apps

Both of these free apps are highly rated and searchable by condition or code, converts ICD-9 codes to ICD-10 codes. Available through the app store on your mobile device.

MTBC ICD9-10
ICD10 Consult 2018