Subject Guides: Point of Care: Disease Reference

Comprehensive Disease Quick References

Comprehensive disease quick references offer a deep, almost textbook level of information about a condition. These are organized well with intuitive navigation for quick access to indepth, highly referenced summaries of research and recommendations for diagnoses and presenting problems.

DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Combines the clinical expertise and curated disease content of DynaMed with the treatment options and drug information of Micromedex; provides evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes. Mobile friendly. App available.
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
Contains the respected disease information from BMJ Best Practice. Mobile friendly. App available.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, peer reviewed clinical information. Please note: Access is limited to College of Medicine students, residents, full-time faculty, and clerkship directors. Mobile friendly. App available.

Focused Disease Quick References

Quick disease references contain bottom line, bulleted list formatted information organized by category for easy access.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
This large resource contains the Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment resource. It can be found under Quick Reference on the tool bar online and is one of the four books provided in the Access Medicine app. Published in 2018 Mobile friendly. App available.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
This large resource contains two quick disease references: First Consult and Clinical Overviews. Mobile friendly. App available.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Essential Evidence Topics located in this resource is a nice, updated disease quick reference tool. Mobile friendly.
Medscape This link opens in a new window
Popular free physicians reference contains the disease reference formerly known as eMedicine. Mobile friendly. App available. Free resource; users must register and login.
Pediatric Care Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of pediatric resources from the AAP, includes a point of care quick reference with 250 pediatric conditions. The Red Book Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases is also included.
Mobile friendly. App available.
PEPID This link opens in a new window
Portable Emergency and Primary-Care Information Database. This large, multifaceted resource also contains quick disease monographs linked internally to calculators and drug information. App available.
uCentral This link opens in a new window
A platform for mobile and online medical references: Washington Manual, Harriet Lane Handbook, Johns Hopkins ABX, Diabetes, and HIV Guides and more. Mobile friendly. App available.

Quick Reference eBooks

5-Minute Clinical Consult 2023 by Frank J. Domino; Kathleen Barry (Editor); Robert A. Baldor (Editor); Jeremy Golding (Editor); Mark B. Stephens (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022
Visit our 5-Minute Consult database for the most up to date information.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2024 by Fred F. Ferri (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023
The Harriet Lane Handbook: a Manual for Pediatric House Officers by Johns Hopkins Hospital
Publication Date: 2023
The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics by Siri Ancha; Christine Auberle
Publication Date: 2022