Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
References for Diagnostic Tests
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Contains the Lange book Guide to Diagnostic Tests. In addition to fluid lab tests, includes drug, microbiology, and imaging tests as well as ECG, and nomogram interpretation. Shows how a diagnostic test can be utilized in the development of a differential. Mobile friendly
. App available
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
Contains an easy to use Labs section with blood, urine, CSF, stool, and other fluids tests. Each monograph contains Reference Ranges, Interpretation, Basics, Prep/Collection and Cost/Billing sections. Under Interpretation both conditions and medications that might cause a value are provided. The medications are then linked to the drug monographs. Under Cost/Billing, a list of commonly associated ICD-9 codes are listed. Mobile friendly
. App available
Merck Manual: Normal Lab Values
This is a free, online resource. Tables contain only reference values (intervals) for blood, urine, CSF, stool, and other fluids as well as commonly used panels. No interpretation information is provided. App availble.
PEPID This link opens in a new window
Contains an easy to use Labs Manual with blood, urine, CSF, stool, and other fluids tests. Each monograph contains Reference Ranges, Interpretation, Related Tests, Physiology, Equations using test, and Technical information sections. App available
Free Online Lab Values
A laboratory test selection tool organized into disease-related categories that provides diagnostic information, pharmacogenetics content, screening and monitoring suggestions. (open access)
Lab Tests Online
A public resource on clinical lab testing from The American Association for Clinical Chemistry. (open access)
Diagnostic Tests eBooks
Guide to Diagnostic Tests by
Publication Date: 2017
In addition to fluid lab tests, includes drug, microbiology, and imaging tests, as well as ECG, and nomogram interpretation.
Available in the AccessMedicine app.