Subject Guides: Drug Information: Home

Databases with Searchable Drug Information

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Dosing, indications, and adverse reactions, with clinical pharmacology, pricing, images, and printable patient handouts presented in English and Spanish. Mobile friendly.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Information from the Gold Standard Drug Database, includes indications & dosage administration, monitoring parameters, contraindications, interactions, adverse reactions, classifications, and global drug names. Mobile friendly. App available.
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Combines the clinical expertise and curated disease content of DynaMed with the treatment options and drug information of Micromedex; provides evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes. Mobile friendly. App available.
Epocrates This link opens in a new window
Pill ID, interactions, dosing, formulary, calculators, and patient education. Mobile friendly. App available.

Micromedex
Database of comprehensive evidence-based information on medication, toxicology, disease, and condition management. Summary and in-depth information is available within various sections covering Drug Interactions, IV Compatibility, Drug ID, Drug Comparison, CareNotes, NeoFax/Pediatrics, Red Book drug pricing, and Tox & Drug Product Lookup.

Pediatric Care Online This link opens in a new window
From the American Academy of Pediatrics. Policy tab gives quick access to AAP clinical practice guidelines. The Red Book Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases is also included. Mobile friendly.
PEPID This link opens in a new window
Drug interactions checker, drug-allergy checker, and IV compatibility tool. Extensive pharmacology section includes abbreviations, and medication overdoses and antidotes. App available.
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window
The leading clinical reference on the treatment of infectious diseases and anti-infective drug information. Mobile friendly. App available.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Select set of foundational drug information from the Lexicomp core databases, including more than 5,800 in-depth drug monographs, each providing dosage information for adult, pediatric and geriatric patients. Separate drug interaction tool for drug-drug, drug-herb, and herb-herb analysis. Please note: Access is limited to College of Medicine students, residents, full-time faculty, and clerkship directors. Mobile friendly. App available.
5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Quick, evidence-based answers to clinical questions at the point of care; includes the full content of 5-Minute Clinical Consult, 5-Minute Pediatric Consult, and selected content from other specialty consults. Mobile friendly.

Johns Hopkins ABX Guide by John G. Bartlett; Paul G. Auwaerter; Paul A. Pham
Evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. This comprehensive web and mobile resource organizes details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, quick-read entries.
Mobile friendly. App available.

Medical Letter Online This link opens in a new window
Weekly online newsletter publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs. Mobile friendly. App available.
Prescriber's Insights This link opens in a new window
Unbiased recommendations on new developments in drug therapy, including the anticipated availability of first-time generics. Mobile-friendly.

Merck Manuals - Drugs by Name
Drug Information from the National Library of Medicine
The U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides a variety of informational databases on drugs and herbal supplements.
CDC Vaccines and Immunizations
Immunization schedules, standards for adult practices, Pink Book (Epidemiology and Prevention of VPDs), vaccine shortages, patient education, and more.
DailyMed
Drug labels (also called a "package insert") provided and updated daily by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
Medscape Drugs & Diseases
Pill identifier, interaction checker, drugs listed by specialty, and more. Free registration required for some content.
FDA - MedWatch
FDA gateway for clinically important safety information and reporting serious problems with human medical products.

CDC Travelers Health
Vaccine and medicine recommendations, health alerts, and travel recommendations by specific regions.
GoodRx
GoodRx tracks prescription drug prices and offers drug coupons. GoodRx checks more than 70,000 pharmacies in the United States. App available.
Medline Plus Drugs
Side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines.
NeedyMeds
NeedyMeds is a national non-profit organization that maintains a website of free information on programs that help people who can't afford medications and healthcare costs.

See our FAQs and Policies

Business Hours:

LactMed
Information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed, including the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
Medline Plus: Pregnancy and Medicines
Free resources for your pregnant patients.