EndNote

Cite While You Write (CWYW)

With Cite While You Write (CWYW), EndNote users can insert references from their library directly into a document as in-text citations. References will also automatically appear in a bibliography at the end of the document. Using EndNote's Cite While You Write function can save users hours of formatting and editing their citations and bibliography.

Cite While You Write:

• Ensures proper reference and bibliography format for selected citation style
• Automatically reformats references and bibliography in Word if changing citation styles
• Automatically updates reference numbering and bibliography order when adding, removing, or reordering references
• EndNote 20 CWYW is compatible with: Microsoft Word & PowerPoint 2016/2019/365, Word for Mac 2016/2019/365, Apple Pages, OpenOffice.org Writer, and word processors that save .odt and/or .rtf files. For more information regarding CWYW's compatibility with word processing software, refer to EndNote's Compatibility and System Requirements

Cite While You Write (CWYW) with EndNote Online
Downloading and Installing CWYW from Software Center

EndNote Online users with COM-issued Windows computers will need to download the Cite While You Write application from the Software Center.

1. To open Software Center, either
     browse for Software Center in the Start Menu (under the Microsoft Endpoint Manager folder);
     click on the magnifying glass in the Taskbar and type 'Software Center' in the search field; or
     click on the Software Center icon in the Taskbar.

2. Upon opening Software Center, you will be presented with the default view.

3. In the top right search field, search and type 'EndNote'. 
4. Click on the CiteWhileYouWrite application.

5. Click on the Install button and follow the prompts for the installation process.

Cite While You Write (CWYW) Tutorial
Creating JAMA-style citations with CWYW in Microsoft Word 2016

1. Go to EndNote and open the EndNote Library that contains the references for your paper.
2. Open Microsoft Word and begin typing your paper.
3. When you reach your first citation, place the cursor where your citation should be in your paper.
     JAMA Style: Citations are placed outside of periods or commas and inside of colons or semicolons.

4. Go to the EndNote X9 Tab in Word's tab bar.

5. Use the Insert Citation dropdown button and select either Insert Citation or Insert Selected Citation(s) to insert your citation.
     Insert Selected Citation(s) can be used to insert multiple citations in one location.

• Insert Citation
• Insert Selected Citation(s)

Insert Citation

---

1. Click on the Insert Citation button, or choose Insert Citation from the dropdown menu.

2. In the Find References box, search by Author, Title, or Year to find the desired reference.
3. Select the reference from the results list and click Insert to insert your selected citation.

Insert Selected Citation(s)

---

1. Go to EndNote and select the desired reference(s), then return to Word.
     Use Shift Control or Shift Command to select multiple references in EndNote.

2. In Word, click on Insert Selected Citation(s) from the Insert Citation dropdown menu.

6. When the first citation is added to the document, EndNote will auto-generate a bibliography in the selected JAMA citation style at the bottom of the paper.

7. As more citations are added, or as citations are moved when the paper is edited, EndNote will auto-update the bibliography and citation numbering to reflect the correct citation order for the JAMA style.

~ Return to Top of Page ~