Subject Guides: Evidence-Based Medicine: Resources

Quick Links to EBM Resources

5-Minute Consult This link opens in a new window
Quick, evidence-based answers to clinical questions at the point of care; includes the full content of 5-Minute Clinical Consult, 5-Minute Pediatric Consult, and selected content from other specialty consults. Mobile friendly.

ACP Journal Club
ACP Journal Club is a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine that summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of EBM databases, including full text of Cochrane systematic reviews with references and search information. Mobile friendly.
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Combines the clinical expertise and curated disease content of DynaMed with the treatment options and drug information of Micromedex; provides evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes. Mobile friendly. App available.
Essential Evidence Plus This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical decision support tool. Personal account required to access content. Features summaries, guidelines, literature reviews, and calculators. Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters (POEMs) research summaries may be emailed daily. Mobile friendly.

ECRI Guidelines Trust
Repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for patient care; includes current evidence-based guidance developed by nationally- and internationally-recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.

JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Offers tools to help physicians apply evidence-based medicine (EBM) to the clinical setting. Includes educational guides such as the Users’ Guide to Medical Literature, the Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence Based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience as well as calculators, worksheets, and podcasts.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, peer-reviewed resource on complementary and alternative medicine, with monographs, flashcards and references; also features interaction checkers, continuing education, and news briefs. Mobile friendly. App available.
PEPID This link opens in a new window
Clinical Rotation Companion Platinum; includes adult and pediatric disease diagnostics and treatment information, lab values, an extensive drug database (including herbals), ICD codes, Stedman's Dictionary of Terms, anatomical illustrations, and more. App available.
Trip Database This link opens in a new window
A meta-search engine for sources of high quality internet information, including PubMed’s clinical queries and government guidelines. It has EBM-based features such as a PICO search, evidence filters, and rapid review. Mobile friendly.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based, peer reviewed clinical information. Please note: Access is limited to College of Medicine students, residents, full-time faculty, and clerkship directors. Mobile friendly. App available.

USPSTF Preventative TaskForce
Electronic Preventive Services Selector: search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations and guidelines. App available.