Subject Guides: Residency Preparation: Best Bets for Residents

Selected Subject Guides

The selected guides below, created and curated by the Maguire Medical Library, contain books, journals, databases and more.

To see more curated guides:

Free ACLS Course from NHCPS
In partnership with the Disque Foundation. Also provides ACLS Megacode Scenario and Simulations and an ACLS Practice Quiz.
The House Residency Podcasts
From NEJM Resident 360's Resident Lounge
The Obstetrics and Gynecology Milestone Project
Review Level 1 of each of the 28 milestones (pages 1-28) to be aware of Day One residency expectations.
Path to Pediatrics: Residency
Guide through residency life and beyond; includes tips for surviving/thriving during intern year, work/life integration, and life after residency.
Successfully Navigating the First Year of Surgical Residency
"This is a good read" according to Dr. Luckey Dunn!

BrowZine (App)
Access medical library journals from your mobile device.
DynaMedex (App)
An evidence-based, point-of-care tool that includes in-depth medical topic summaries, calculators, comprehensive drug information, ICD-9/ICD-10 and CPT codes, and linked references to the medical literature.
Epocrates (App)
This app contains: disease and drug information, guidelines, interaction check, pill ID, formulary, labs, ICD-10 and CPT codes, alternative medicine, and infectious disease treatment.
Medscape (App)
Free from WebMD, offers evidence-based disease reference and updated medical news and education resources.
PEPID (App)
Includes adult and pediatric clinical rotations with disease diagnostics and treatment information, DDX Tool, lab values, an extensive drug database (including herbals), ICD and CPT codes, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and anatomical illustrations.
uCentral (App)
This app contains: DSM-5 Handbook, Washington Manual, Harriet Lane Handbook, calculators, MEDLINE Search, Johns Hopkins ABX, Diabetes, OB/GYN, Psychiatry and HIV Guides.
UpToDate Anywhere

For additional mobile resources:

DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
Combines the clinical expertise and curated disease content of DynaMed with the treatment options and drug information of Micromedex; provides evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes. Mobile friendly. App available.

Harriet Lane Handbook
Started as a pocket-sized resident “pearl book,” now an internationally respected clinical resource. Mobile friendly. App available (UCentral).

JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window
Offers tools to help physicians apply evidence-based medicine (EBM) to the clinical setting. Includes educational guides such as the Users’ Guide to Medical Literature, the Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence Based Clinical Diagnosis, and Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience as well as calculators, worksheets, and podcasts.

Let's Talk Vaccines: A Clinician's Guide to Addressing Vaccine Hesitancy and Saving Lives by Gretchen LaSalle
Publication Date: 2019
Covering everything from the science of vaccine safety to the psychology of risk communication, this essential guide includes real-life examples and thoughtful, evidence-based techniques that will help patients understand vaccines and make informed decisions.Provides a framework for how to approach difficult discussions, with the goal of improving the health of each patient as well as the community at large.
Medical Marijuana: A Clinical Handbook by Samoon Ahmad, Kevin P. Hill
Publication Date: 2020
Presents today's available information on cannabis and its uses in all areas of patient care. Summarizes what is currently known about the positive and negative health impacts of cannabis, including detailed pharmacological profiles of THC and CBD, and applicability to multiple specialties.

NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Thieme MedOne Radiology This link opens in a new window
A top diagnostic radiology database. Includes e-books, cases, and images on ultrasound, MRI, CT, and more. Mobile friendly.

See our FAQs and Policies

Business Hours:

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
To search Guidelines: Select All Types and choose Guidelines.
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available web-based repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for patient care. This centralized repository includes current evidence-based guidance developed by nationally- and internationally-recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
Trip Database This link opens in a new window
A meta-search engine for sources of high quality internet information, including PubMed’s clinical queries and government guidelines. It has EBM-based features such as a PICO search, evidence filters, and rapid review. Mobile friendly.

USPSTF Preventative TaskForce
Electronic Preventive Services Selector: search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations and guidelines. App available.